Honestly I forgot I had this blog set up.  I was planning on a new one altogether, and when I tried to start one here at WordPress I found all my old stuff.  Funny how the Internet is like that, it never lets you forget.

Anyway, it’s been a while.  Life is different now.  We moved to Western North Carolina, where I now work for Facebook.  It’s my dream job and it really is everything it’s cracked up to be.  I work with amazing people on an amazing product that’s way deeper and much more powerful than most people realize.  We truly do make the world more open and connected.

Our move was a bit tough on the kids, but the benefits have proven to outweigh it all.  Their school is great, the abundance of nature is awesome, and there is NO TRAFFIC!! I felt like I spent half my life in the car when we were in Atlanta.  No more.

The one thing we miss is Jiu Jitsu.. We can’t find it anywhere close by.  We’re working with some friends to try to change this, but it’s not going to happen any time soon.  In light of that, and a few months of a sedentary lifestyle and a few pounds packed on, I did something last night that I said I’d never do.

I started CrossFit.

Yes, I took the plunge.  The local gym is small, but I immediately noticed that, like most gyms and most places here in rural NC, they are a team and a family.  I didn’t realize how much I missed that until last night.  I also didn’t realize how much I missed movement.  It’s easy to be lazy, but I snapped out of it while challenging myself last night.  I’m back, and I am excited about working hard, having fun, and making a change.

The gym makes all newcomers undergo a series of “foundation” classes in order to safely learn the movements and lifts that are at the core of CrossFit.  This makes me feel pretty good, as I know plenty of people who have gotten hurt doing this and other high intensity, structured fitness training.  I feel like my new coaches really know their stuff, they understand the mechanics of movement, and they are focused on ensuring growth and performance without risking your health.  I’m not getting any younger, and I’m a big guy, meaning my joints need all the help they can get.

I’ll be tracking my progress here, as I have learned that I only see great results when I become slightly obsessed with something.  I definitely have an “all or nothing” streak in me.  BJJ helped me learn how to capitalize on that and also helped me temper it some.  I’m hoping to continue that here at the CrossFit gym.  And whenever we get a BJJ program started here in the county I’ll be stronger, more flexible, and in better shape for it.

I’ll also be posting here more frequently to document our life in NC, my life at Facebook, and all the other stuff I feel like writing about.

Until next time!

