Ephesians 5:22-33 is one of my most favorite passages of scripture.

it challenges me daily to honor my wive. i love kristy and i honor her, but i always want to do a better job.

life is stressful right now. i’m not home a lot. between my job and my masters degree i’m a busy guy. when i come home it’s all about the kids. when we go to bed we pretty much fall asleep before we get a chance to catch up. i’m ready for this hectic schedule to be over, and the light is at the end of the tunnel – i’ll finish my schooling very soon.

i’ll be honest. much of the time i want to honor myself before anyone else. and much of the time i choose to do just that. but God is working on me, and i am in constant prayer. my wife deserves better – not that i feel like i’m no good, but she deserves better. if there ever comes a day when i don’t feel that way then there’s something wrong. i will always strive to be a better husband.

so how do you guys reading honor your wives? do you? do you need to reevaluate? has the newness of marriage worn off? do you need a reality check? go check out Ephesians 5:22-33 and think about the relationship God calls us to have through Christ with our wives. make yourself ready to lay down your life for her – both literally and figuratively. be her servant. in this way you not only honor her, but you honor and love yourself and, most importantly, God.

