Arkansas Man Dies Tampering With Electric Meter After Service Shut Off

Darwin 1, Arkansas 0.

see my earlier post..

My Dad always told me there’s a right way to do something and a wrong way to do something. If it’s worth doing then it’s worth doing the right way.

This guy suffered the most extreme effect of trying to do something the wrong way. Luckily I’ve never suffered injury or come close to death because I chose to take the easy way out, but I have suffered some consequences.

At this point in my life I shoot for excellence with everything I do. Believe me, I don’t do it for myself, and I don’t do it for recognition or praise.

I do it because time is running out. My time is short here, and I want to do things in the best way possible. I don’t have time to “half ass” it anymore. Ricky and Rachel’s time is short as well. They might be little kids right now, but if I don’t lead from the front, encouraging them to chase excellence, then they won’t understand what it means to succeed. I figure the first 7 years of their lives will determine if they desire excellence or if they will settle for less. I look at it as part of my job to encourage them to do things the right way.

Even with all this effort I might still fail – thus the paradoxical life of a parent. I can do everything right but it still comes down to their choice, not mine. I chose to slack off in college despite my parents’ huge sacrifice to send me to a great private school and on to the university level. Ricky and Rachel might make the same choice.

God gives us each plenty of chances to do the right thing. I know in my 30 years I’ve made lots of good decisions but I’ve also made lots of bad ones. My prayer is that as I grow in wisdom I start making more decisions that fall into the good category, and that my kids pick up on this and save themselves some heartache.

What do you do to encourage your kids to strive for excellence?

